Our Mission

Our mission at the Native American Training Institute is to empower individuals, families, and the community to create a safe and healthy environment so children and families can achieve their highest potential.

Our Trainings

North Dakota Indian Child Welfare and Wellness Conference “The Healing Journey Continues” This year we are highlighting that ICWA is all about maintaining a culture of healing. The Healing Journey Continues as we maintain the family structure, while building new, and fostering existing relationships that support everyone involved in ICWA, regardless of background. The 21st […]

Cultural Competency and Communications

A skills-based training engineered to help you better serve Native American communities by better understanding our cultural backgrounds.

Extending Our Families Through Unity

An extensive training for foster parents of First Nations you to help you better understand their needs and promote positive development.

Historical Trauma in Native American Communities

An in-depth examination of historical trauma and inter-generational grief designed to equip you with strategies for healing and growth.

News & Events

North Dakota Indian Child Welfare and Wellness Conference

2022 Conference ProgramDownload 2022 AGENDA AT A GLANCEDownload 2022RegistrationDownload ...
Read More

North Dakota Indian Child Welfare and Wellness Conference "The Healing Journey Continues" This year we are highlighting that ICWA is all about ...
Read More

2021 Tribal Design Team Meeting

The Tribal Design Team is a collaboration between the grant team, NATI and our Tribal partners. We meet quarterly throughout the year. The followin...
Read More

Our Staff

Connie Lewis

ICWA Family Preservationist

ConnieL@nativeinstitute.org

Lonnie Wise Spirit

Tribal Liaison

lonnieW@nativeinstitute.org

Andrew Mokena

Tribal Liaison

AndrewM@nativeinstitute.org

Dereck Stonefish

Training Coordinator

derecks@nativeinstitute.org

Jessi Leneaugh

ICWA Partnership Trainer / Coordinator

jessil@nativeinstitute.org

Gillian Plenty Chief

Director

gillianp@nativeinstitute.org

Sloan Henry

ICWA Family Preservationist

sloanh@nativeinstitute.org

Leah McCloud

ICWA Family Preservationist

leahm@nativeinstitute.org